Peanut butter protein keto balls

The schools in Ontario remain closed at least May 12. It has already been a month that the kids are home, and in the last two weeks, they started online learning. Well, that was so challenging since I am working (not from home) during the day. So in the evening, I am only starting to check their progress, and I can’t help them during the day. I think that being a teacher is one of the most difficult professions in the world. I really don’t know how the teachers manage with so many kids during the class.

With the kids home all the time, and no limitation from the school of peanut-free food, I tried a new recipe based on peanut butter. It is quite a simple one and a great healthy snack. The good thing is that the taste is so dense and rich that I can only snack one ball at a time.

Preparation time: ~20 minutes. Freezing time: ~30 minutes

INGREDIENTS:  ~21 coconut balls

  • Flax-seed meal  – 2/3 cup
  • Unsweetened cocoa powder- 2 tablespoons
  • Natural peanut butter – 1 cup (~300 grams)
  • Stevia powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Unsweetened shredded coconut – 1/3 cup
  • Chocolate protein powder (low sugar) – 60 grams
  • Raw sunflower seeds – 1/3 cup
  • Coconut oil – 1 to 2 tablespoons

INSTRUCTIONS:

In a food processor/blender, add the flax-seed meal, cocoa powder, and peanut butter. Blend until all well combined. Then, add stevia, shredded coconut, protein powder, sunflower seeds, and one tablespoon of coconut oil.

Blend to a smooth mixture. Scrape the walls and, if needed, add a tablespoon of coconut oil to smoother the texture.

Transfer the mixture into a bowl. Cover the bowl with a plastic wrap and freeze for about 30 minutes. Afterward, with an ice cream scoop, form small balls and roll them in the shredded coconut. Place on a flat plate and freeze before transferring to the storage container. I keep them in the freezer or fridge for a softer texture.

One keto ball is about 5 g of carbs (out of the 5 g carbs, 2.3 g is fiber so about 2.5 g digestible carbs), 11.2 g of fat, and ~140 calories, most of the calories come from fat.

Bon Appetit!

37 thoughts on “Peanut butter protein keto balls

  1. I marched straight to the kitchen to make these! Perfect quick breakfast/snack for the boys. I had everything on hand except my cocoa powder expired in 2018 😆. But substituted chocolate chips, and agave for the stevia. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing the recipe for such a healthy and delicious snack! And I know it’s hard to have the kids home when you still have to work. It’s so nice to have the online learning options, and like you, I have so much respect for the teachers who are being so flexible during these tough times in order to take care of the kids. Our schools have closed for the year, but they are doing online learning as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been snacking more during this time, so at least with eating the keto balls, I don’t feel bad afterward. I was still hoping that the government will open the schools. I know it is probably not realistic now and they will probably follow the US, but my younger son would be so disappointed. Oh, well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know! Lots of parents have said their children were so upset to discover they couldn’t go back, and of courses the older ones who are missing their graduations are unhappy too. But don’t give up hope…you never know, they may open up late Spring and go into summer.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, Ann! Yes, my older son’s graduation got postponed for now. I hope it won’t get canceled completely. I still have hope that the schools will re-open. But the most important that the kids are safe at home for now.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I imagine that’s quite a challenge with kids home and you out to work. I love that you’re using the chance home to focus on peanuts! Where the restrictions are lifted, peanuts will roam! These look really cool and there’s a surprising amount of healthy goodness in there, and the protein could make them a little more filling too. Brilliant recipe and if you don’t like coconut I guess you could always leave off the dusting. Anything chocolatey gets a thumbs up from me. I hope you and the kids can stay as safe & as well as possible, Svet.
    Caz xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, last week was rough for me with trying to manage all the online learning. I personally think the expectations are a bit high from the kids, especially the younger ones. Though, there are some parents that think that the kids are not doing enough. When kids are at school I am always cautious with the peanut, so it is an opportunity now. Definitely, the protein powder makes the keto balls a bit more filling. It is not like chips that you start with one, and then you finished the whole bag in minutes. Thank you for your kind words, Caz! Stay safe and well too. Kisses, Svet

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kim! Yes, I think the one I used is part of the blender (system) just the blade inside is a bit less sharp. Perhaps the blender would be too aggressive and you might need to blend it for shorter duration.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Svet I have one question about the protein powder. Do you use a specific kind? Often there’s so many carbs/sugars in the powder. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. these look so yummy!! and really easy!! But I’ve been digging through different types of diets and keto seems very doable over a period of time. And I came across a blog where she talks about her story of switching to keto and she said she had used a program linked into her blog so i was wondering if you have any idea of this plan

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi, thank you for your comment. I looked on the blog and website and the link and I am not aware of this specific plan. But there are many websites that offer keto guidelines as a diet. However, some of my recipes are keto because they are low on sugar and carbs and are better for people with diabetes.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Svet, I have a major weakness for peanut butter! 😉 It’s just so delicious! These look amazing. My husband loves coconut too, so we just might be trying these in the near future. You always come up with the best recipes. Thank you! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment